The Chronicle Exclusive: Yoni Kulendi To Be Next CJ …Getrude Torkornoo also in the race

Information gathered by The Chronicle indicates that the next Chief Justice for the Judicial Arm of Government may be either Justice Yoni Kulendi or Justice Gertrude Torkornoo.

The Chronicle is making this prediction based on discussions it has picked up within the circles where the nomination is to come from.

Though this paper has gathered that these two names have popped up in several discussions about the choice of a new Chief Justice, it would not be surprised should a third name emerge.

The two justices, Gertrude Torkornoo and Emmanuel Yoni Kulendi were appointed to the apex court in 2019 and 2020 respectively.

The search for a new Chief Justice has become necessary, given that Justice Kwasi Anin-Yeboah is due for retirement next month.

In accordance with the law, President Akufo-Addo will have the privilege to invoke provisions of the Constitution and appoint the second Chief Justice under his administration.

The Head of Ghana’s Judicial Service, Kwasi Anin-Yeboah Esq., was appointed the 14th Chief Justice by Nana Akufo-Addo in December 2019 and inducted into office on January 7, 2020 succeeding Her Ladyship, Justice Sophia A.B Akuffo, whose tenure ended on December 20, 2019 after serving as Chief Justice for two and a half years.

Justice Anin Yeboah took three Oaths; the Oath of Allegiance, the Judicial Oath and the Oath of Secrecy, which were administered by the President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo at the Jubilee House, the seat of government.

Kwasi Anin-Yeboah, JSC is about to retire this year as he hits 70 on May 24.

Since 1957, after the administration of Sir Arku Korsah who served as first Chief Justice (1956– 1963) there have been 13 other Chief Justices who have served as heads of the Judicial Service.

All the Chief Justices who have headed Ghana’s Judicial Service since independence include;          J. Sarkodee-Addo, Esq. (1964 -1966); Edward Akufo-Addo, Esq (1966 – 1970); E.A.L. Bannerman, Esq (1970 -1972); Samuel Azu Crabbe, Esq.  (1973-1977), F.K. Apaloo, Esq (19771986) and E.N.P. Sowah, Esq (1986–1990).

The rest are; Philip Edward Archer, Esq (199-1995), lsaac Kobina Abban, Esq (1995-2001), Edward Kwame Wiredu, Esq (2001 – 2003), George Kingsley Acquah, Esq (2003 – 2007).

Mr. Justice George Kingsley Acquah was appointed Chief Justice on July 4, 2003 but died in office on March 25, 2007.

Georgina Theodora Woode (Mrs), who was appointed to the Supreme Court on November 12, 2002 was then appointed as the first female Chief Justice from 2007 to 2017.

She was followed by Sophia Abena Boafoa Akuffo in 2017 till 2019, to be succeeded by Kwasi Anin Yeboah from 2020 to date.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here