NCCE pays courtesy call to Bank of Ghana

A 5-member delegation, led by the Chairperson of the National Commission for Civic Education (NCCE), Kathleen Addy, has paid a courtesy call on the management of the Bank of Ghana (BoG) to seek mutually-beneficial relationships between the two institutions.

Addressing the delegation in a short meeting, the Governor of BoG, Dr. Ernest Addison, who received the delegation, stated that public education on the proper handling of currency notes would be one of the key areas of collaboration.

He bemoaned the improper handling of currency notes by certain Ghanaians and asked the NCCE to play a significant role in the Bank’s “Clean Notes Campaign” campaign, which includes assisting to inform the public on how to handle Ghanaian currency notes.

He acknowledged that some Ghanaians dislike using coins and outlined their benefits, noting that they are more robust and inexpensive to make than currency notes.

He said that because vendors round prices to avoid using coins, Ghanaians’ dislike of using money has an effect on pricing and is detrimental to the Central Bank’s goal of reducing inflation.

Ms. Kathleen Addy, the Chairperson of the NCCE, stated that the visit was to introduce herself as the newly elected Chairperson of the NCCE and to identify potential areas of mutual collaboration.

She stated that the NCCE is an independent, non-partisan governance institution established under the 1992 Constitution of the Republic of Ghana with a mandate to educate citizens on their rights and responsibilities, as well as work towards entrenching democracy in Ghana.

Ms. Addy remarked that the NCCE played a key role in the education and sensitisation of the Ghanaian public during the Bank’s Cedi redenomination exercise in 2007.

Ms. Addy expressed gratitude to the Governor for the warm reception at the Bank and welcomed the proposal to intensify public education on the proper handling of the Ghana currency notes.

The Chairperson was accompanied by a Commission Member, Lawyer Victor Brobbey, the Acting Commission Secretary, Mrs. Lucille Hewlett Annan, the Director of Programmes, Dr. Imurana Mohammed and the Director of Finance, Ms. Monica Mamattah.

In the Governor’s team were the First and Second Deputy Governors, Dr. Maxwell Opoku-Afari and Mrs. Elsie Addo Awadzi, the Director of Research, Dr. Philip Abradu-Otoo, the Bank’s Secretary, Ms. Sandra Thompson and other officials of the Bank.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here