Breaking the 8: Unity is key -Ekow Ewusi

Mr. Horace Ekow Ewusi, former Central Regional First Vice Chairman of the New Patriotic Party

The former Central Regional First Vice Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr. Horace Ekow Ewusi, says the quest of the party to break the 8-year jinx required absolute unity and tranquility among the rank and file of the party.

He has, therefore, urged members of the party to bury the hatchet and forge ahead together in unity to make the NPP, not just popular, but also attractive going into the next General Elections.

Mr. Ewusi stated this during the out-dooring of the members of the various committees of the Cape Coast North Constituency branch of the NPP.

Mr. Ewusi, who is the Chairman of the Council of Patrons, stated that the party in the constituency lacked unity prior to the last elections, but was quick to add that there was a now a new wave of oneness in the constituency.

The committees, he said, were duty bound to sustain the peace, and ensure that the party was properly organised in the constituency, so that they could recapture the parliamentary seat.

“As far as Cape Coast North is concerned, we have two objectives; one, we have to make sure that whoever becomes the flag-bearer of the party will win, and win massively in Cape Coast North,” he emphasised.

“The most important one is to make sure that we recapture the seat that we lost in 2020, so at this stage the party is very focus and we’re going to do whatever we have to do, to ensure that the government becomes more popular,” he added

The Constituency Secretary, Mr. Emmanuel Ebo Sarbah, told The Chronicle that the party was poised to marshal all its arsenals in the constituency to prosecute their agenda to win back the seat.

“To be able to break the “8” is a herculean task that is why we decided to outdoor them to place an emphasis on their appointments, and to charge them to hit the grounds running.”

The committees are, Council of Elders, Council of Patrons, and Finance and Disciplinary, with Mr. Ekow Ewusi and Prof Samuel Yeboah Mensah chairing the Council of Patrons and Council of Elders committees respectively.

The Finance Committee, Mr. Sarbah explained, would be expected to harness resources to support the party in the constituency financially, in terms of events, programmes, and other activities.

The Disciplinary Committee would have the responsibility to instill discipline at all levels to ensure orderliness.

The Council of Patrons and Council of Elders committees, he said, would serve as advisors to the party, and straighten structures when leaders and members veer off the path.

Members of the various committees

Member of the Council of Patrons are: Mr. Horace Ekow Ewusi, Prof Samuel K. Ansah, Ms. Christina Boateng, Prof Eugene Kuffour Darteh, and Ms. Judith Arthur.

Council of Elders: Prof Samuel Yeboah Mensah, Mrs. Stella Bilson, Mr. Ahmed Ibrahim, Mrs. Anna Hanson, and Mr. Bright Ntow Kwafo.

Discipline Committee: Messrs Benjamin Simpson, Michael Ocran, Nana Kweku Enu III, Ms. Veronica Mensah and Ms. Agartha Yankey.

Finance Committee: Ali Baah, Francis Abaidoo, Francis Prah, Richard Anane, Dankwa Ahmed Ayyub, Ms. Charllote Aidoo and Mrs. Georgina Ampadu.


Ashanti Council of Churches supports National Cathedral project

Previous article

I’ll restore PRINPAG’s lost glory -Edwin Arthur

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Central