NPP Constituency Election Blues

Chairman Adusei Bonsu in a post election address

The 900 delegates made up of five executives, each from the 170 Polling Stations, 10 Electoral Areas, the Member of Parliament, and some members of the Council of Elders, last Thursday retained Mr. Michael Adusei Bonsu as the Subin Constituency Chairman of the New Patriot Party (NPP)

He polled 754 votes at the end of the polls at about 5.47 pm, which saw eight of the former constituency executives having been re-elected and declared as winners for the various positions by a team of Electoral Commission (EC) officials led by the Subin Sub-Metro Elections Officer, Madam Hildegord Q. Ofori.

Two voting centres were created to speed up the process, which was conducted under heavy security presence. Other elected executives were Francis Osei-Hyeaman, 1st Vice-chairman who polled 575 votes, Isaac Amo- Nti, 2nd Vice-chairman (722 votes), Akuamaoh Boateng, Secretary (767 votes) and Lily Ampofowaa, Assistant Secretary (793 votes).

Angelina Frimpong polled 736 votes to become the treasurer while Yaw Anokye was elected the Organiser with 624 votes with the post of Women’s organiser going to Ama Konadu Boateng who polled 739 votes. Razak Abdulaziz (718 votes) and Ibrahim Osman (716 votes) emerged as the Youth Organiser and the Nasara Coordinator respectively. Chairman Michael Adusei Bonsu who retained his position called for unity among all the contending factions to strategize toward breaking ‘the 8’.

The Subin lawmaker, Eugene Boakye Antwi said the outcome of the elections was an indication of democracy at work and assured to resource the executives to deliver on their mandate in support of party activities. At the Manhyia South constituency elections, Mr Richard Adjei Mensah Ofori Atta was elected the chairman of the constituency. He contested unopposed and got the approval of the over 500 delegates present.

Mr. Adjei Mensah Ofori Atta alias Tom Tom replaces Mr Gabriel Kofi Anane, the former constituency chairman who did not seek re-election. ‘Tom Tom’ is the CEO of Eon3 group and proprietor of Thunder newspaper and network.


The Post of 1st vice and second vice chairman went to Seth Twumasi and Bonsu Kyeretwie while Alhaji Abubakar Alhassan alias Abuba became the unopposed constituency Organiser. The new Youth organizer is Henry AduPoku while Mary Coker emerged as the Women’s organizer.

Haruna Alhassan retained his position as a secretary with BashiruIssaka and Kofi Asamoah being elected Nasara Coordinator and Treasurer respectively.

The newly-elected constituency chairman thanked the delegates for electing him and promised to unite and work together with all contestants to break ‘the 8’. He said he identifies with the vision of the Member of Parliament of the constituency and assured to mobilize resources for party activities and continue from where his predecessor left off.

TomTom as he is widely known said he would not countenance a lackadaisical attitude by members and promised to maintain discipline among members of the party through a Disciplinary Committee. The chairman, however, cautioned that his leadership would not tolerate any kind of imposition or interference from the Regional secretariat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here