EOCO GRANTS SUAME MP BAIL OVER GH¢27M SIC FINANCIAL LOSS

0
285

The Economic and Organised Crime Office (EOCO) has granted the Member of Parliament for Suame, John Darko, enquiry bail after he appeared before investigators in connection with an alleged criminal conspiracy involving a financial loss of approximately GH¢27 million to SIC Savings and Loans Company Limited.

The lawmaker was invited by the anti-graft agency to assist with investigations into the alleged conspiracy, which EOCO says has resulted in a revised financial loss estimated at GH¢27 million.

In a news release issued by EOCO, the Office disclosed that Mr Darko honoured the invitation and reported to its premises.

According to the statement, the MP cooperated fully with investigators and provided responses to questions relevant to the ongoing investigation.

“He was respectful, cooperative and fully responsive throughout the investigative process,” EOCO stated.

The Office explained that its decision to grant the legislator enquiry bail was informed by the circumstances surrounding the case, the applicable law and his level of cooperation with investigators.

EOCO, however, did not disclose the specific allegations against the MP, the nature of his alleged involvement or the conditions attached to his bail.

Former SIC MD also questioned

In a related development, EOCO has confirmed that the former Managing Director of SIC Life Savings and Loans, Amma Frimpomaa Dwumah, has also appeared before investigators in connection with the ongoing probe.

According to the Office, the former Managing Director honoured its invitation and is cooperating with investigators.

The statement did not indicate whether she had been granted bail or provide details of the information investigators were seeking from her.

GH¢27m financial loss

The investigation centres on an alleged criminal conspiracy that EOCO says has resulted in a financial loss to SIC Savings and Loans Company Limited.

The Office indicated that the estimated loss had been revised to approximately GH¢27 million but did not disclose the original figure or explain the circumstances that necessitated the revision.

It also did not provide details of the transactions under investigation or identify the individuals suspected of participating in the alleged conspiracy.

EOCO maintained that investigations were progressing steadily in accordance with its case theory.

The Office stressed that no determination had been made regarding the criminal responsibility of any individual connected to the matter.

“As the investigation remains active, no conclusion has been reached regarding the culpability or otherwise of any person connected to the matter,” the statement emphasised.

The agency’s position means that the invitation and questioning of the Suame MP and the former Managing Director should not be interpreted as findings of wrongdoing.

EOCO has not indicated when investigations will be concluded or whether any charges will be preferred against persons connected to the case.

 

For more  news, join The Chronicle  Newspaper channel on WhatsApp: https://whatsapp.com/channel/0029VbBSs55E50UqNPvSOm2z

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here