86 aspire for 36 NDC parliamentary seats in Ashanti Region

A total of 86 candidates have filed their nominations to contest for 35 parliamentary seats on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Ashanti Region.

A statement issued by Dr. Frank Amoakohene, Ashanti Regional Secretary of the party, said the vetting of the aspirants who had filed their nomination forms would be held from today, Monday April 3, to Wednesday April 5, 2023.

Ejura/Sekyedumase has the highest number of five aspirants, in the persons of Juliana Kinang-Wassan, Kombat Suuk Paul, Awal Asaad, Muhammad Bawa Brimah, the incumbent, and

Mohammed Sisu Tamimu, while Atwima Nwabiagya North, Atwima Nwabiagya South, Offinso South and Kwadaso would have four contestants vying for the parliamentary seats.

They are Gertrude Nartey, Mba Zecharian Alenbilla, Richard Badu and Paul Asiamh Yeboah (Atwima Nwabiagya North); Nana Asare Bediako, Salifu Mohammed, Derrick Owusu Boateng and Osei Boamah Wisdom (Atwima Nwabiagya South).

Yussif Harunna, Vincent Asare Badiako, Julia Anohene and Osei Bright (Offinso South) and Monica Bawuah, Eric Asibey, Francis Dumeh, and Abubakari Abdul Fatwu for Kwadaso.

Samuel Aboagye has filed for Obuasi East while Faustina Appiah Kannin and Ambrose Edwin Nsarkoh would lock horns at the Obuasi West NDC primaries.

The Akrofoum seat will be solely contested for by Joseph Azuma.

The Bosomtwe seat would be vied for by Ibrahim Asante Boadu, Kwame Kutortse Dannies and Ing. Abdullah Hamidu, while Bance Musah Ousmane and Samuel Adjei go for the Manso Nkwanta seat.

The contestants for the Odotobiri seat are Emmanuel Obeng Agyemang, Freddrick Addai and Stephen Owusu.

Others contestants are Samuel Prempeh Jnr (Bekwai); Abdul Salam Adams and Ernest Kofi Yakah (New Edubiase), Yahaya Seidu and Yakubu Issifu (Mampong), Kwasi Amankwa (Kumawu) and Maame Sarfoaa Appiah, Amponsah Victor Kwame and De-Graft Forkuo (Asante Akim South).

The rest are Juaben – Kwadwo Owusu and Eunice Ohenewaa Ansu; Effiduase – Raymond Opoku Agyeman and Osei Christopher Sarfo; Kwabre East – Mohammed Sakib Umar, Joseph Amankwah and Frederick Sarfo-Asante and Asante Akim North Edward Kofi Asamoah and

Sulley Adams Yussif.

Afigya Sekyere East – Twumasi Evans Amoh, Samuel Duku Sarfo and Osei Banor; Nsuta Kwamang Beposo – Kofi Kwateng Amaning Kokuro Ejisu – Lincoln Osei Bonsu Stephen, Elvis Koka, Lawyer Emmanuel Amoah and Jerryne Asante.

Atwima Mponua – Awudu Abdul Razak and Stephen Yeboah.

Atwima Kwanwoma – Patricia Ayombil and Grace Agyemang Asamoah.

The two aspirants for Ahafo Ano South East are Kofi Nti Boateng and Mohammed Yakubu with Emmanuel Jackson Agumah and Amidu Godfred Daanaah going for the Afygya Kwabre North seat.

The Afigya Kwabre South seat will be contested for by Patricia Pearl Ankrah, Vivian Nyuzagla Nuzagl and Prince Sylvester Ayirebi Mensah while Amoh Kamel and Dorcas Dufie Osei Boadu eye the Asokwa seat for the NDC.

At Tafo, Sahmudeen Mohammed Kamil will be the sole contender while Anwel Sadat Ahmed, and Joshua Kwame Kingsley Fugah will aspire for the Oforikrom seat.

The incumbent Member of Parliament for Asawase, Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka, will face Mubarick Masawudu in the primaries.

Nhyiaeso – Stephen Obiri Yeboah, Richard Kwamina Prah and Faustina Dery Bayor; (Suame-Frank Owusu Ansah, Safianou Nassamou Lawal); Bantama – Daniel Sasu Maari, Simon Addai Dapaah and Joseph Amo; Manhyia North Constituency will contend with the sole candidature of Hamza Swallah.

Official NDC source indicates that the filing of nomination forms in the other 11 remaining constituencies are on hold until further notice.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here