Russia to set up courts in 4 annexed Ukrainian regions

Federal courts will be instated in the four Ukrainian regions annexed by Russia and the courts of the territories will be integrated into the Russian judicial system “as soon as possible,” according to Vladimir Putin.

“Four new subjects have become part of Russia – the DPR (Donetsk People’s Republic), the LPR (Luhansk People’s Republic), Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions. In these territories, it is planned to create federal courts,” Russian President Putin said Tuesday while speaking at the 10th All-Russian Congress of Judges in the Kremlin.

“The Supreme Court, together with other bodies, has a lot of work to do on the formation of new compositions of courts and the speedy integration of courts into the Russian judicial system. And this needs to be done as soon as possible,” he said.

Through the annexation process, which is illegal under international law, Moscow has recognized four Ukrainian regions as Russian territory.

This includes Luhansk and Donetsk – home to two Russian-backed breakaway republics where fighting has been ongoing since 2014 – as well as Kherson and Zaporizhzhia, two areas in southern Ukraine that have been occupied by Russian forces since shortly after the invasion began.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here