Rex Omar re-elected GHAMRO Board Chairman

On the 15th of May, 2022, the Ghana Music Rights Organisation (GHAMRO) elected new executives of the union. There were ten centres in operation on that day: Members in Brong Ahafo, Ashanti, Central, Volta and Northern Regions voted at the Centre for National Culture in their respective capitals.

Voters in Accra cast their ballots at CIBT, those in Western Region at Melody Hotel – Takoradi, those in Oti at Good Morning Hotel – Kpasa, and those in Upper East at Asongetaaba – Bolgatanga and those in Upper West at Royal Lodge Hotel – Wa.

Voting was conducted by the Electoral Commission of Ghana with the supervision of the Ghamro’s Election Committee.

The successful elections began at 8:30 AM and lasted till 3:00 PM at all centres.

The candidates for the elections were put into four groups as outlined in Section 4.2 of the GHAMRO Constitution and are as follows:


Kwakye Kwabena Kabobo

Kwame Adinkra

Oheneba Kissi

Diana Hopeson

Kofi Abraham

Rex Owusu Marfo


John Mensah Sarpong

Benjamin Mensah

Francis Omari Adofo


Benny Wood Ruthy

George Ofori Atta

Elizabeth Tagoe

Yaw Agyemang-Badu


Ernest Kwesi Ennin

Francis Boahene

In collaboration with the Electoral Commission of Ghana, results were collated and declared at the 2022 GHAMR Board Elections as follows:

  • Diana Hopeson                                                   Composer
  • Kofi Abraham                                                      Composer
  • Rex Owusu Marfo                                               Composer
  • Francis Omare Adofo                               Publisher
  • Elizabeth Tagoe                                                   Performer
  • Yaw Agyemang-Badu                                          Performer
  • Francis Boahene                                                  Producer

The newly elected seven (7) member board was sworn into office by a High Court Judge, Her lordship Justice Hafisata Amaleboba (Mrs) on the 23 March 2022 at the GHAMRO Board Room for the commencement of their four (4) years term which will end in 2026.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here