General NewsPolitics

Nana ‘Throws Out’ Ghartey, Gloria & Others

January 22, 2021 By 0 Comments

The President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has released a list of 46 ministers for his second term, but without Gloria Akuffo, former Attorney General and Minister for Justice, Samuel Atta-Akyea, former Minister for Works and Housing, as well as former Minister for Railways Development, Joe Ghartey.
The others who could not make the list include Cynthia Morrision, former Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection, former the Minister for Local Government and Rural Development, Hajia Alima Mahama, and Kwamena Duncan and Ishmael Ashittey, former Central and Greater Accra Regional ministers respectively.
The 46 ministers designated for the second term of President Akufo-Addo are Albert Kan Dapaah – National Security, Ken Ofori-Atta – Finance, Alan Kyerematen -Trade and Industry, Dominic Nitiwul – Defence, Ambrose Dery – Interior.
Others are Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey – Foreign Affairs & Regional Integration, Godfred Dame -Attorney General and Minister for Justice, Dan Botwe – Local Government, Decentralisation & Rural Development, Osei-Kyei Mensah-Bonsu – Parliamentary Affairs, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful -Communications and Digitisations.
The list continues: Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto – Food and Agriculture, Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh – Energy, Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum – Education, Kwaku Agyemang Manu – Health, Samuel Abdulai Jinapor – Lands and Natural Resources, Kwasi Amoak-Atta – Roads and Highways, Francis Asenso Boakye and Freda Prempeh – Works and Housing, Kwaku Ofori Asiamah – Transport.
Others are Mavis Hawa Koomson – Fisheries and Aquaculture Development, John Peter Amewu – Railway Development, Cecilia Abena Dapaah – Sanitation and Water Resources, Awal Mohammed – Tourism, Arts and Culture, Sarah Adwoa Safo – Gender, Children and Social Protection, Ebenezer Kojo Kum – Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Dr Kwaku Afriyie -Environment, Science, Technology & Innovation, Ignatius Baffour Awuah – Employment, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah – Information, Mustapha Yussif – Youth and Sports, and Joseph Cudjoe -Public Enterprises.
The remaining 16 are for the regions. They are George Boakye – Ahafo, Simon-Osei-Mensah -Ashanti, Justina Owusu-Banahene – Bono, Adu Gyan – Bono East, Justina Marigold Assan -Central, Seth Acheampong – Eastern, Henry Quartey – Greater Accra, Shani Alhassan Saibu -Northern.
The rest are Yidana Zakaria – North East, Joseph Makubu – Oti, Saeed Muhazu Jibril – Savannah, Stephen Yakubu – Upper East, Dr Hafiz Bin Salih – Upper West, Dr Archibald Yao Letsa – Volta, Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah – Western, and Richard Obeng – Western North.
Unlike the previous 36 and 126 ministries and ministers respectively under the first term, the new administration of President Akufo-Addo would be made up of 28 ministries, and not more than 85 ministers, including deputies.
The above information, which The Chronicle picked intelligence on and reported same within this week, has been confirmed in a statement Jubilee House issued yesterday, earlier before the list was made public.
The release was under the signature of the acting Director of Communications at the Presidency, Eugene Kofi Bentum Arhin.
The statement indicated further that seven ministries, namely Aviation, Business Development, Inner City and Zongo Development, Monitoring and Evaluation, Planning, Regional Re-organisation and Development, and Special Development Initiative “have been realigned.”
Jubilee House explained in the statement that the President had effected this realignment because, virtually all those special-purpose ministries had achieved the purposes for which they were established.
Explaining further, the statement said that a Co-ordinator had been appointed to supervise activities of the Inner City and Zongo Development, which has been brought under the Presidency. The Co-ordinator would also exercise oversight responsibility over the Zongo Development Fund.
The Ministry for Local Government and Rural Development has been renamed Ministry of
Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development, which will be tasked with
overseeing the outstanding activities of Dan Botwe’s Regional Re-Organisation and
Development Ministry.
Hawa Koomson’s Special Development Initiatives, as well as Monitoring and Evaluation
Ministry will be co-ordinated from the Presidency.
The Aviation Ministry will be merged with the Transport Ministry, the Presidency said in the
statement, adding that the Ministry of Planning would be subsumed under the Ministry of Finance.
The Business Development Ministry is to be merged with the Ministry of Trade and Industry.
Eugene Arhin, who has been maintained as the Director of Communications at the Presidency,
added in the statement “A new Minister for Energy is to be appointed, who will be assisted by deputy ministers, one of whom will be an indigene of the Western Region.
Again, the office of the Senior Minister, which was occupied by Yaw Osafo-Maafo, has also been abolished.
Eugene Arhin said in the statement that the President intends to appoint a Minister for Public Enterprises, “who will be operating directly under the ambit of the Presidency, and not from a ministry.”
The Minister will oversee a major restructuring of the entire state-owned enterprises sector to improve the productivity and profitability of the sector, he added.
Though there will be a substantive Minister for Works and Housing, a Minister of State has been nominated, and if approved by Parliament, would be assigned to this ministry for special focus on issues of affordable mass housing.
“The President has decided that there will be no deputy regional ministers. At an appropriate date, the President, in accordance with the Constitution, will submit to Parliament the list of all deputy ministers of state for its approval,” the Presidency announced.
The statement concluded that the President had met all the persons who would hold ministerial positions and congratulated them, with the expectation that Parliament would approve of them swiftly.
“To the former ministers, the President assured them of possible roles to be played in the larger governmental structure, and wished them the best of luck in their future endeavours,” the release ended.

0 Comments on "Nana ‘Throws Out’ Ghartey, Gloria & Others"

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: