General News

Defeated MP-Ministers blacklisted

January 20, 2021 By 0 Comments

The Chronicle can authoritatively inform our cherished readers that Members of Parliament (MPs) of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) who served as Ministers or Deputy Ministers, but could not retain their parliamentary seats, will not find themselves in the new Government of President Akufo-Addo.

Our sources at the 4th Floor of Jubilee House have indicated that President Akufo-Addo, since his swearing-in for a second term, has taken a number of significant decisions with regards to appointments yet to be made.

Reliable sources at the presidency confided in us that barring any unforeseen developments, the list of persons to serve as Ministers and Deputy Ministers in the second term will be known any moment from now.

However, one of the decisions taken, for which The Chronicle can confirm, is that there will be a considerable reduction in the number of Ministers and Deputy Ministers to be announced.

It would be recalled that, the previous Akufo-Addo government had 126 Ministers. But sources have confirmed to The Chronicle that the number of Ministers, Regional Ministers and Deputy Ministers to be appointed will this time not exceed 85.

Indeed, the number of Ministries is also set to reduce from thirty-six (36) to not more than twenty-nine (29), The Chronicle has gathered from deep throat sources at the presidency.

“The Ministers and Deputy Ministers to be appointed will be a blend of new and old members of the President’s last government. It will be national in character and the Ministries to be announced by President Akufo-Addo will reinforce his focus for the 2nd term – accelerate job and wealth creation, strengthen the private sector and see to the rapid development of the country,” the source indicated.

Some other information available to this paper indicates that some ministries that were under the previous government of President Akufo-Addo may be scrapped and some merged.

Already, the President has also taken the decision to send back to the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources, matters relating to illegal mining, popularly referred to as ‘galamsey.’

It was initially with the Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation.


0 Comments on "Defeated MP-Ministers blacklisted"

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: