General NewsPolitics

9 Ashanti MPs fail re-election bid

June 22, 2020 By 0 Comments

Nine New Patriotic Party (NPP) Members of Parliament failed their re-election bid in the party’s primaries held last Saturday across the country.

Kwabena Tahiru Hammond – MP Adansi Asokwa – Winner

They are Kwabena Owusu Aduomi – Ejisu Constituency (3rd Term), Ben Abdallah Banda – Offinso South (3rd Term), Kojo Appiah-Kubi – Atwima Kwanwoma (3rd Term), Collins Owusu Amankwah – Manhyia North (2nd Term), Daniel Okyem Aboagye – Bantama (1st Term), Kwame Asafu-Adjei, Nsuta, Kwamang Beposo; Kennedy Kankam – Nhyiaeso (1st Term), Joseph Albert Quarm – Manso Nkwanta (1st Term), and Joyce A.A Dei, Bosome-Freho (1st Term).

The eight losers add up to 40 the total number of sitting MPs who lost their seats.

Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh – MP Manhyia South – Unopposed

In the Ejisu Constituency, Kwabena Owusu Aduomi lost to John Kumah, who polled 397 votes  against 305, while Kofi Amankwaa Manu snatched the seat with 415 votes from Dr. Appiah Kubi ( 69 votes).

The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Microfinance and Small Loans Centre (MASLOC), Stephen Amoah polled 332 to beat Kennedy Kankam (315), while Collins Owusu Amankwa managed 273 votes, but was not enough to prevent Kwasi Konadu’s 278 votes from toppling him.

At Offinso South, Dr. Isaac Yaw Opoku polled 473 votes to replace the incumbent, Ben Abdallah Banda (166 votes).

The Deputy Chief of Staff, Francis Asenso-Boakye, polled 456 votes to truncate Daniel Okyem Aboagye’s ambition to seek re-election, by managing 122 votes in the contest.

In spite of stiff opposition, Kwabena Tahiru Hammond, MP for Adansi Asokwa, polled 244 votes to beat Sammy Binfo (170) to retain his seat.

Dr. Nana Ayew Afriyie thrashed Lawyer Adom Appiah with 332 votes against 68 votes.

Dr. Emmanuel Kwabena Marfo also maintained his position when he polled 545 votes against his opponent, Dr. Emmanuel Yaw Adu Amankwa, who polled 346 votes.

Other MPs who managed to retain their seats include Yaw Frimpong Addo (Amansie South), Philip Basoah (Kumawu), Ama Pomaa Boateng (Juaben, Ashanti), Kwaku Asante Boateng (Asante Akyem South) and Akwasi Gyamfi (Odotobiri Constituency).

Meanwhile, 12 MPs from the Ashanti Region contested their seats unopposed and were consequently retained by acclamation.

They are Majority Leader Kyei Mensah Bonsu, Suame; Madam Patricia Appiagyei, Asokwa; Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Manhyia South; Dr. Osei Yaw Adutwum, Bosomtwi; Johnson Adu, Ahafo Ano South West; Francis Adabour, Ahafo Ano South East; Joseph Osei-Owusu, Bekwai.

The rest are Mavis Nkansah Boadu, Afigya Sekyere East; Miss Francisca Oteng Mensah, Kwabre East; Sanid Adamu Suleman, AhafoAno North; Mr. Isaac Asiamah, Atwima Mponua, and Collins Ntim, Offinso North.

0 Comments on "9 Ashanti MPs fail re-election bid"

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: