General News

2 NDC parliamentary candidates sue EC

January 14, 2021 By 0 Comments

John Justice Abban

Two National Democratic Congress (NDC) parliamentary candidates in the Western and Western North regions have filed petitions at the High Court to challenge the parliamentary results declared by the Electoral Commission (EC).

They are John Justice Abban, who contested the Tarkwa Nsuaem Constituency, and Evans Paul Aidoo, who also vied for the Sefwi Wiawso seat.

Paul Evans Aidoo is seeking for an annulment of the declaration of the results on the grounds that proper collation was not done in line with CI 127. The petitioner is further seeking an order for a re-run of the Asawinso Community Center polling station ‘A’ poll.

According to the petitioner, the ballot box and it contents at the said polling station were destroyed and that there was no collation and statement of poll.

Dr. Owusu Afriyie, Member of Parliament (MP) for Sefwi Wiawso, and the Electoral Commission (EC) are the 1st respondent and 2nd respondents respectively.

In the Tarkwa Nsuaem Constituency, John Justice Abban, the petitioner, is challenging the declaration of George Mireku Duker as winner of the election.

The petition, which also has EC as 2ndrespondent, details what it describes as serious violations of the electoral laws and many irregularities.

The petitioner is, therefore, seeking amongst others, a declaration that the purported declaration of the results of the 2020 parliamentary election on December 8, 2020 was void and of no effect whatsoever.

The petitioner is seeking an order directed to the 2nd defendant to comply with the Public Elections Regulation 2020 (CI 127) by re-collating all the results from the 252 polling stations in the Tarkwa Nsuaem Constituency in the presence of the accredited agents of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and New Patriotic Party (NPP) to reflect the true will of the voters.

Again, an order directed at the second defendant to nullify the votes cast at polling stations without verification as required by law, and a further order directed at the same respondent to re-run parliamentary elections at Community Center Boboobo 1A and 1B and the four other polling stations where the votes cast exceeded the total number of voters who voted at the aforementioned polling stations.

0 Comments on "2 NDC parliamentary candidates sue EC"

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: