Ghanaian Chronicle

Shaaba loses Nkawkaw seat again

Date published: September 24, 2012

The sitting Member of Parliament for the Nkawkaw constituency in the Eastern Region, has lost his seat to the NPP’s Eastern Regional treasurer, Eric Kwakye Daffour.

Mr. Baah who is also widely known as Shaaba earlier lost the seat in 2008 during the NPP Parliamentary primaries and hence stood as an independent candidate and won the election to represent the constituency in Parliament.

Mr. Daffuor was elected as the NPP Parliamentary candidate for the Nkawkaw constituency on Saturday during the parliamentary primaries of the party.

He beat the incumbent MP, Seth Adjei Baah, a former MP, Kwabena Okekyere Ebisa and three others.

According to Citi FMs Eastern Regional correspondent, Kwame Appiah Kubi the results were as follows;

1Eric Kwakye Daffour192
2Kwabena Okekyere Ebisa186
3Joyce Opoku Boateng102
4Seth Adjei Baah  26
5Owusu Addo  12


Eric Daffour in his acceptance speech urged his colleagues who lost the contest to help him ensure victory for the party during the December general elections.

He said: “My victory signifies consistent hard work and dedication to the party. They don’t have any option to support me, unless they wanted the mandate for a different purpose. They should support me for a successful election.”


NPP Primaries: Metro TV boss wins Bawku seat  

The Deputy Managing Director of Metro TV, Haruna Alhassan has won the NPP primaries to replace the incarcerated Bawku Central MP, Adamu Dramani Sakande.

The NPP Member of Parliament for Bawku Central, Adamu Dramani Sakande was convicted by a Fast-Track High Court on three counts of perjury, false declaration and deceit of a public officer and has since been sentenced to two years imprisonment for the three counts which would be running concurrently.

The party therefore organised the primaries on Saturday to find a replacement for the jailed MP.

Haruna Alhassan polled 287 votes beating three other candidates; Gabiana Agbanwa Abugi, a Bawku-based nurse had 133 votes. The other two candidates were a former Upper East Regional Youth Organizer of the party, Mohammed Tahiru Nambe and Baba Seidu Issaka, a businessman.

In a brief acceptance speech, Haruna Alhassan pledged to work hard to retain the seat for the NPP saying, “I will love to dedicate this win to our departed brothers. I want to also thank my team that worked very hard,” to secure this victory, “It is a victory for the NPP.”


Short URL:

Leave a Reply


The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Chronicle or its staff, nor do they represent the views of any entity affiliated with, The Chronicle. Comments are automatically posted; however, The Chronicle reserves the right to take any comment down at any time. Please report any inapropriate or abusive comments to us so we can take them down.

Log in | Designed by Village Pixels