Nollywood Stars show up in grand style

…at premiere of ‘Champions of our Time’

With : Jacquiline Afua Bondzi

Nollywood stars, Emeka Enyiocha, Lancelot Imasuen, Ernest Obi, Actors Guild of Nigeria president Segun Arinze, Ekah Aribia and others came all out on November 28, 2010, as ‘Champions of Our Time’ was premiered at the Silverbird Galleria, Victoria Island, Lagos.

The Premiere kicked off around 4:00 p.m. with a strutted Red Carpet show that gave celebrities room to show off beautiful attires and jewelries.

Guests at the premiere could not hold back their emotions, as the jam-packed hall was held spellbound from the beginning of the movie till it was taken off the screen.

‘Champions of our Time’ has gone ahead to win prestigious awards like the Best Film of the year at the ZAFAA International Film Festival and Abuja International Film Festival.

It tells the story of two exceptionally brilliant young girls from opposing ends of the social spectrum.

They both nurse ambitions of becoming the next winner of the prestigious St. Flairs Foundation Quiz Competition. However, their quest unravels a web of intrigue, high-stakes politicking, corruption in high places, and a culture of neglect and discrimination against the physically challenged amongst us.

Suspense-wrapped scenes in the movie showed how far the players went to achieve their dreams, in the face of seemingly insurmountable odds.

Produced by Veteran Screenwriter, Chidi Nwokeabia, and seasoned Nollywood actor, Emeka Enyiocha, ‘Champions of Our Time’ features established thespians like Segun Arinze, Joke Silva-Jacob, Ngozi Ezeonu, Ejike Asiegbu, Ayo Adesanya, Charles Inojie, and debutants, Treasure Obasi and Feyisola Ewulomi, Paul Adams, Ejike Metu.

A brilliant treatment of its topical subject matter, ‘Champions of our Time’ evoked empathy and got many viewers emotional on the plight of the heroine, the screening however, reinforces the belief in the indomitable resilience of the human spirit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *