Kumasi goes gay …as residents celebrate Nana’s victory

From Sebastian R. Freiku..
The tranquility and silence that characterised the delayed declaration of last Wednesday’s polls, erupted into a spontaneous jubilation by supporters of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) when news broke that President John Dramani Mahama had conceded defeat.
The ensuing situation was chaotic, as residents temporarily defied the ban on noise making in the Ashanti Region, following the demise of the Asantehemaa, and went into ecstasy with the blowing of vuvuzelas, tooting of car horns, and blasting of fire crackers to celebrate a well fought and deserving victory in the December 7 polls.
Earlier in the day, NPP supporters, in anticipation of a resounding victory no matter how long the verdict was delayed, hijacked NDC’s new and popular “Onaapo” refrain and danced to it on the streets all over the city, resulting in heavy traffic jams, amid noise making by both commercial and private drivers along the streets of Asafo, Fante New Town, Anloga Junction, Suame, Maakro, Bantama, Adum and virtually every part of the city.
At 8.45 pm, the Electoral Commission, chaired by Mrs. Charlotte Osei, who is the National Returning Officer, declared Nana Akufo-Addo winner of the December 7 polls, making it official that he (Nana Akufo-Addo) is the President-elect, after a well fought and well deserved victory in the just-ended presidential and parliamentary elections.
Nana Akufo-Addo secured 5,716,036 votes (53.85%) against President John Dramani Mahama’s 4,713,277 (44.40%).
Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo thus becomes the second president of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), the fifth president under the Fourth Republican Constitution, and the first not bearing John as a first name.
Former Air Force Officer, Flt. Lt. Jerry John Rawlings was elected President in 1992, followed by Mr. John Agyekum Kufuor in 2001, Prof. John Evans Fiifi Atta Mills in 2008, and John Dramani Mahama in June 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *