Type to search

Ahmad Lawan emerges Senate President

botchway June 12, 2019

Senator Ahmad Lawan, representing Yobe North, has been elected as Senate President. Lawan defeated Senator Ali-Ndume with 79 votes, out of the total of 107 votes cast.
While Lawan polled 79 votes, Ndume polled 28 votes. The Clerk of the National Assembly, Mr Mohammed Sani-Omolori, made the announcement in Abuja.

Announcing the result, the Clerk said that 107 Senators- elect voted. Lawan was immediately sworn in by the CNA after taking the oath of allegiance and that of office.
According to punchng.com, there was jubilation in the House of Representatives chamber as news filtered in, of the emergence of Senator Ahmad Lawan as Senate President.

Several members-elect moved to where Mr Femi Gbajabiamila and Mr Idris Wase, candidates of the All Progressives Congress for Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively, were seated to congratulate them on Lawan’s victory in the Senate.

Credit: vanguardngr.com

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons