Type to search

Subin Town Council, Unit Committee members sworn in

botchway December 5, 2018


From Thomas Agbenyegah Adzay                   .

Town Council members and chairpersons of the four Unit Councils of the Subin Sub-Metro of the Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly (KMA) were elected and sworn into office last Thursday.

The Town Councils were Asafo, Adum, Fante Newtown and Amakom, which form the Subin Sub- Metropolitan Council.

In all, 49 unit committee representatives were elected and sworn into office, with Messrs Yaw Yeboah, Isaac Asare Kumi and Umar Djagana receiving popular acclamation as chairpersons for Adum, Asafo and Fante Newtown respectively. Mr. Michael Aikins was also elected Chairman of the Amakom Town Council.

The Sub-Metro elections, which are held every year, complete the decentralisation structures of the KMA as an integral part of the structures of the Metropolitan, Municipal and District assemblies (MMDAs).

The Chairman of the Subin Sub-Metro Council, Mr. Stephen Ofori, in a remark, said the election and swearing in of the unit committee representatives is not just a process, but a responsibility imposed on the members.

He appealed to the members to be patient with the processes leading to the transition of office between them and the outgoing members.

The Asokwa District Court Judge, His Worship Peter Oppong Boahen, swore the unit committee representatives into office.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons