Type to search

Amansie assemblies elect presiding members

botchway August 2, 2018


The Amansie West and South District assemblies have elected their presiding members at a special meeting at Manso Nkwanta and Manso Adubia, their district capitals respectively.

Prince Osei Bonsu was elected Presiding Member for Amansie West District Assembly, while Mr.  Kwabena Akuoko Kwarteng, a journalist with the Kessben Media Group, was overwhelmingly endorsed and voted as the first Presiding Member, at a special meeting at Manso Adubia.

After the first round of voting, the 41-member Amansie West District Assembly elected Prince Osei Bonsu, who polled 29 votes against nine by Obed Kwame Boateng and one vote by Joseph Appiah Kubi.

The outgoing DCE for Amansie West, Mr. William Bediako Asante, thanked the assembly members for voting Prince Osei Bonus as the new Presiding Member, and asked them to team up with him to bring development to the district.

The new Presiding Member, in his acceptance speech, thanked the members and the good citizens of Amansie West for the confidence reposed in him, and pledged to work hard with the them to bring development to the district.

At Manso Adubia, the 39-member Amansie South District Assembly elected Kwabena Akuoko Kwarteng, Assembly Member for Mem-Domi Electoral Area, as its first Presiding Member.

Akuoko Kwarteng was the only candidate who filed his nomination papers at the close of nomination.

He polled 37 out of 39, representing 94.87%, of the assembly members present.

The elections were conducted by the district office of the Electoral Commission.

The District Coordinating Director Mr. Kyei Baffour Frimpong asked Assembly members to be punctual at Assembly meetings and contribute to Assembly deliberations.

He said the assembly would soon meet to form sub-committees. 

The Presiding Member thanked them for the honour and pledged to work tirelessly with the members to improve the district.

Present at the meeting include Mr. Akwasi Abu, NPP Constituency Chairman, District Police Commander, Supt. Ohene Takyi, and other NPP party executives.

Earlier, the 12 government appointees at the Assembly were sworn into office by the District Magistrate, His Lordship Thomas Boadi Soyire.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons