Type to search

Suame Municipal Assembly elects first PM

botchway April 24, 2018

From Ernest Best Anane, Kumasi .                                                                                                                                                   The newly-created Suame Municipal Assembly has elected its first Presiding Member (PM) in the person of Mr. Maxwell Kwakye Ofosu, who is the Assembly Member for Abusuakrowa.
He was overwhelmingly endorsed by all the 13 assembly members, made up of nine elected members and four government appointees, thus securing 100% of the total votes cast and has since been sworn in by Her Worship Mrs. Molly Naafo Salia, Asokore Mampong Municipal Magistrate Court Judge. The elections were peacefully supervised by the Electoral Commission (EC), after which the new PM commended members of the Assembly for the confidence reposed in him by endorsing him overwhelmingly. He promised not let the members down and pleaded for their support to see the forward march of the Assembly to enhance the welfare of the people. He also assured them of total accountability of the revenue to be mobilised in the area, and challenged the residents to honour their tax obligations to ensure that the Assembly acquires the needed revenue for the development and progress of the municipality. Mr. Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Majority Leader in Parliament and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, who is also the Member of Parliament (MP) for the constituency, entreated the members to remain united by prioritising the progress and development of the municipality. He indicated that he would partner the assembly members to ensure that the road network, which is the main challenge, is addressed appropriately. He disclosed that he would liaise with Otumfuo and Nananom to make land available for permanent offices to enhance the smooth operations and function of the Assembly.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons