Type to search

Salah, De Bruyne, Harry Kane challenge for Player of the Year award


Salah, De Bruyne, Harry Kane challenge for Player of the Year award

botchway April 19, 2018

City duo De Bruyne and Silva are shortlisted for the PFA’s Player of the Year award, along with club-mate Leroy Sane after all three helped Guardiola’s side win the Premier League.
Kane, Salah and De Gea are also nominated, with the winner set to be announced at the PFA’s annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 22.
In a related development, Manchester City dominate the PFA Premier League Team of the Year, with five players featuring in the star-studded line-up revealed on Wednesday.
Pep Guardiola’s men were crowned Premier League champions last weekend, and a big group of their title-winning squad have been rewarded for a stellar campaign.
Right-back Kyle Walker, centre-back Nicolas Otamendi, midfielders David Silva and Kevin De Bruyne all make the cut, and they are joined by striker Sergio Aguero.
Surprisingly, it is the first time Aguero has made the team of the year — which is voted for by fellow Premier League players — despite his consistent performances for the Eithad Stadium outfit.
Tottenham were the only other team to have more than one representative, boasting three players in defender Jan Vertonghen, midfielder Christian Eriksen and striker Harry Kane.
Manchester United’s only inclusion was goalkeeper David de Gea, while left-back Marcos Alonso was the sole player from dethroned champions Chelsea.
Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah, with 30 league goals this season, was also included.
Credit:  dailymail.co.uk

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons