Gold Fields Ghana pays $26.5m corporate tax to gov’t

With Daniel Nonor

Mr. Martin Ahorney (2nd left) presenting the cheque to the Minister of Finance. On the 2nd right is Mrs. Pamela Djamson-Tettey, Hon. Fiifi Kwettey (left) and other Directors

Gold Fields Ghana, operators of the Tarkwa and Abosso Gold Mines, have paid an amount of 26.5 million dollars as corporate tax to the Government of Ghana at a brief ceremony in Accra. The payment of $20 million brings the total corporate tax paid by Gold Fields Ghana in respect of the Tarkwa mine to $55 million in the period January to December, 2010.

The payment of the $6.5 million brings the total of $19 million in respect of the Abosso mines for the same period. Gold Fields Ghana has, therefore, paid close to $74 million in corporation taxes alone in the year 2010.

The total payments to Government, representing Corporation taxes, Royalties, National Stabilization Levy, PAYE and Dividends, totaled over One Hundred and Fifty-seven million dollars ($157 million) or over Two Hundred and Twenty Million Ghana Cedis (GH¢220 million), in the period January to December, 2010.

Presenting the cheques to the Minister of Finance, the Finance Manager of Gold Fields, Mr. Martin Ahorney commented: “Gold Fields Ghana is proud to be part of Ghana’s development and will continue to manage its operations responsibly and thus significantly contributing to the national agenda. Gold Fields will continue to collaborate with all stakeholders, particularly the Government of Ghana, to harness the resources in its operational areas for our mutual benefit.

Receiving the cheque, Dr. Kwabena Duffuor thanked Gold Fields Ghana for their continuous support towards the developmental agenda of the Government of Ghana and urged other mining companies to emulate the good example of Gold Fields Ghana.

Present at the presentation were Mrs. Pamela Djamson-Tettey- head of Corporate Relations and Sustainable Development of Gold Fields, Hon. Fiifi Kwettey, a Dep. Minister of Finance and Economic Planning, Director of IRS and other directors of the Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *