… Dede, Gyan or Olele

…As SWAG pencils them for 2010 SWAG Awards

By: Kofi Owusu Aduonum

Richard Kingson, Goalkeeper (left), Asamoah Gyan, striker (middle), Dede Ayew, midfeilder (right)

In the next few months, precisely May, the question as to who is the best footballer in the 2010 season would be settled in the next edition of the SWAG Awards ceremony in Accra.

Announcing the nominees for the forthcoming event by the organizers -Sports Writer Association of  Ghana (SWAG) yesterday at the Media Centre, Ohene Djan Stadium, Dede Ayew, Asamoah Gyan and Richard Kingson(Olele) names came up for the best footballer of the year award.

At the brief nomination ceremony, the senior manager of MTN Ghana Foundation Corporate Division, Mr. Robert Kuzoe said “For us as sponsors of MTN SWAG Awards, we look forward to the very best from the organizers to ensure that this year’s event will be at another level, than the success story achieved by last year’s award.”

Dede demonstrated brilliance in the last edition of the Nations Cup in Angola, extended it to the World stage when South Africa hosted the Mundial, has been impressive with club side Marseille, and beat Didier Drogba in the BBC Best Player of the year award to the second position.

Gyan, in like manner, played very well in the last Nations Cup and at the World stage, emerging as tops in the current BBC player of the year award, coming closely at the heels of Samuel Eto’o in the Glo-CAF Awards, and has been a revelation at Sunderland and in the premiership as well.

Goalkeeper Kingson has equally put up a par excellent performance in the Nations/World Cup and has proved his mettle in the English Premier League, and that has heightened the stakes in that category.

The flagship Award (Sports personality of the year) would be contested by Gyan, Kingson and IBF Champion Joseph Agbeko, while Mfanstipim Senior High, male have been nominated for the basketball team of the year.

Sacred Heart Senior High have nominated for the best female basketball team.

Agbeko is the professional boxer of the year. Felix Lartey is table tennis star (Male) of the year, while Beatrice Gyasi emerges as the best in the female tennis star.

Hockey will see Trustees’ Salia Nsalbini emerging as the best in the male category with recently married Ramatu Abass, Extinguishers standing tall in the female category. Young and U-17 gold winner John Botsio will pick the promising star of the year prize.

Former Black Stars skipper Stephen Appiah has been nominated for the dedication and valour award, with the team of the year award going to the Black Stars.

The coach of the year ward will be battled out between former Stars Serbian manager Milovan Rajevac and Aduana’s Herbert Addo. The President of the year prize will go to Mr. Kwasi Nyantakyi.

Male athlete of the year is Aziz Zakari. The female athlete of the year prize will go to Anita Fordjour, with the amateur boxer of the year prize going to Awusoni Yekini for picking bronze in the India Commonwealth Games.

Special meritorious awards will go to the female relay team that won silver in the Delhi Games, the Black Challenge team, Kevin Prince Boateng, Promasidor Ghana Limited and Rev Ed Nii Koi.

Nominees for the referee of the year, top scorer in the Glo Premier League and player of the year would be announced later.

The president of SWAG, Mr. Ackah Anthony commended MTN for their support and promised that Mr. Danny Jorddan, COO of SA 2010 will be the special guest of honour.

Mr. Worlanyo Agra, the Chief Executive of the National Sports Council praised SWAG for the initiative – announcing nominees before the awards and rewarding deserving winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *